NEWS OF NOTE NATIONAL TOPICAL STAMP SHOW

Our parent organization, the American Topical Association (ATA), will hold its annual National Topical Stamp Show (NTSS) on 23–25 June 2017, at the Crowne Plaza Milwaukee Airport Hotel in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. The NTSS is an American Philatelic Society sponsored World Series of Philately (WSP) national-level exhibition. The special show room rate at the show hotel is \$99 plus taxes.

The show will feature an all-thematic philatelic exhibition and a 30-dealer bourse. Several cachet makers will also be present. The show includes not only topical material, but a wide range of other stamps, covers, and philatelic items. There will be meetings, seminars, youth activities and other events.

Six speakers will offer noteworthy presentations. Barry Stagg will talk about "Thematics in Great Britain." Jack André Denys will speak about the life of pioneering topical exhibitor Mary Ann Owens in "Mary Ann Owens Lives." Noted philatelic judge Ed Andrews will explain the newest competitive exhibit type, "Topical Exhibits."

You will be able to get helpful tips on aspects of collecting. Jack Congrove will instruct you on the steps to "Make Your Own Album Pages by Computer." Dale Smith will describe "Removing Self-Adhesive Stamps from Paper." And Norma Nielsen will explain "Using Genealogy Resources for Philatelic Research.

Parking is free and there will be experts available to evaluate stamp collections and philatelic items.

On Thursday, 22 June, the ATA will conduct a half-day tour of historic Cedarburg, Wisconsin. The tour will include visits at the Wisconsin Museum of Quilts and Fiber Arts, Cedarburg Cultural Center, and the Cedarburg Art Museum. The cost of the tour is \$55 and includes a buffet lunch and driver gratuities.

On Monday following the show, the ATA will offer a full-day tour of New Glarus, Wisconsin. This tour will include visits to the Swiss Historical Village and Museum and the Chalet of the Golden Fleece Museum. The cost of this tour is \$77 and includes lunch at the New Glarus Hotel Restaurant and gratuities.

Register for the show and the tours by visiting the ATA website at: http://www.americantopicalassn.org.

DISTINGUISHED TOPICAL PHILATELIST

For her wide-ranging contributions to philately, Vera Felts has been selected to receive the American Topical Association's highest award at the NTSS awards banquet on 24 June in Milwaukee. Vera is also a member of the **Biology Unit**.

As the ATA Executive Director since 2009, Ms. Felts has brought innovation and a positive attitude to the office and many of the organization's programs. She spearheaded the highly successful ambassador program that has resulted in hundreds of new members, and managed the transition to a new topical checklist database, which has made ATA's signature checklists better than ever.

For the past 18 years, she has served as registration chair and managed the show cachets for the St. Louis Stamp Expo. She edited the APS gold award-winning newsletter of the Southern Illinois Stamp Club for 15 years, and co-founded its SIRPEX local show.



A life member of APS, she served eight years as coordinator of its newsletter exchange. At the Science Center in Carbondale, Illinois, in 1999 she founded a long-running youth stamp group.

Ms. Felts is revered throughout philately for her devotion to helping people advance and enjoy topical collecting.

The Distinguished Topical Philatelist award has been presented by the ATA each year since 1952. Donald Smith served as chair of the selection committee. You can view the scrolls signed by all 119 of the Distinguished Topical Philatelists at http://www.americantopicalassn.org/awardsdtp.

ATA BOARD ELECTIONS

Our parent organization, the American Topical Association, recently held elections for its Board of Directors. Three members of the Biology Unit were elected (or re-elected) to the Board. Beth Collins from Cottonwood, Minnesota, was a serving member of the Board and was elected to the position of Secretary. Laurie J. Ryan from Cincinnati, Ohio, who is the current Secretary, was elected as a Director.

Chris Dahle from Cedar Rapids, Iowa, was appointed to the Board right after the election last year because of the resignation of Tony Wawrukiewicz. According to ATA bylaws, he needed to be elected to fulfill the remaining two years of that term. His term will expire in 2019.

The other persons elected to the Board were Igor Grigorian from Los Angeles, California, and Kim E. Kellerman from Westmont, Illinois. Grigorian is President of the Armenian Philatelic Association. Kellerman is the senior US describer at Rasdale Stamp Company.

Long-time Board members Larry Davidson from Stratford, Ontario, and Robert Lamb from State College, Pennsylvania, are leaving the Board, but plan to remain active with the ATA.

All newly elected members will take office officially at the National Topical Stamp Show in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, 23–25 June 2017.

SEAPEX 2017 ACCEPTING EXHIBITS

The Seattle Philatelic Exhibition (SEAPEX) will hold their annual World Series of Philately (WSP) exhibition on 8–10 September 2017, at the Tukwila Community Center just north of SeaTac International Airport. SEAPEX this year is celebrating the 100th anniversary of the establishment of Camp Lewis, now Joint Base Lewis-McChord.

The show will have more than 30 dealers offering a wide variety of philatelic and other material. The China Stamp Society, Society for Hungarian Philately, and Society of Australasian Specialists/Oceania will all be holding their annual conventions at the show.

SEAPEX is accepting philatelic exhibit applications until 21 July 2017. Winners of the Grand awards will be eligible to compete for the American Philatelic Society (APS) Champion of Champions award at the APS StampShow and AmeriStamp Expo. See the show website at http://seapexshow.org for more details and to download the exhibit applications and prospectus.